What 2011 Will Bring

It’s a little late to make this post now, but I’ve been meaning to get through it. This is what I’m looking forward to this year, in events, albums, games, etc.

Concerts
The year already looks really great when it comes to concerts. I already attended my first concert of the year this weekend, and from now on I will only spend my money on trips and tickets to concerts. Just the way it should be.

The Whitest Boy Alive @ GDL, Teatro Estudio Cavaret, January 28th
Last friday the year started out in concerts for me with the WBA in Guadalajara. I wasn’t so excited to see them as I’m not a big fan but I went because a)I have money,  b)some friends were going, and c)because I heard that their live performances were great. It was fun, they definitely have some experience and the connection that they had with the audience was remarkable (this was their 4th time playing this city, I believe). The trip could have been better, but the concert was fun and it was a free ride, so, cool.

The Radio Dept. @ Mexico City, Lunario del Auditorio Nacional, February 19th
Ever since I temporarily lived in this city last summer, I’ve missed it dearly. Lately I’ve gotten this uncontrollable urge of visiting it, and this concert seems like the perfect reason. I’d heard of these guys in Last.fm’s recommendation radio, but I’d never really payed attention to them. When I heard about this concert I digged through their short discography and I was surprised about how much I liked them. I still need to take care of some stuff, and get payed, but as soon as I get my paycheck next week I’m getting my tickets.

Indie-o Fest 2011 (The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Childs, The Concretes, Bear in Heaven, Zola Jesus) @ Mexico City, Polyforum Siqueiros, March 12th
Meh. Another excuse to get out of my boring city. I might or might not go. It depends on my economy.  I like some of these bands but not really that much. We’ll see.

Andrew Bird @ Mexico City, Teatro de la Ciudad de México, March 17th.
I would go to this concert if it wasn’t on a Thursday. It’s also very close in date to the Indie-o Fest, so I don’t know. A friend might go, and if he goes, I’ll go.

Spring Quesadilla Tour (Local Natives, OK Go, Yeasayer, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros) @ Mexico City, Infield del Hipódromo de las Américas, March 25th
Fucking expensive is what this concert is. I really want to see the Local Natives, and Yeasayer and Edward Sharpe would be nice, but damn this is expensive.

Two Door Cinema Club @ Mexico City, Lunario del Auditorio Nacional, April 2nd
I’m going. No excuses. April, Saturday, Two Door Cinema Club.

Vive Latino @ Mexico City, Foro Sol, April 8th
I really don’t want to go to this festival,  but The National is going and if The National goes I have to go. I’m gonna wait to see if they open a date of their own. I really hope they do. The Chemical Brothers and Jane’s Addiction are also going. Everything else is not really my taste, and the people that go to this event, argh.

Foals, @ Mexico City,  Vive Cuervo Salón, May 11th
First off, fuck you promoters for making events on weekdays.  Good thing I might be out of school by then. I hope I’m not on finals.

U2 @ Mexico City, Estadio Azteca, May 15th
I’m not very much into U2. I used to be, though. I wouldn’t pay full price for one of their concerts, because they are crazy expensive. I have a friend who bought 2 tickets of the most expensive ones and is willing to sell me the 2nd one for a moderate price. I’m going. I’ve heard many good things about their live performances.

Bonnaroo 2011 @ Manchester, Tennessee, Great Stage Park, June 9-11
This is the event I’m the most excited for. It’s gonna be crazy. Fucking awesome. More on this later.

Interpol @ GDL, Auditorio Telmex, July 1st
It’s Interpol. And there’s still a lot of time left.

Games
Oh, videogames. If you weren’t so expensive here I would buy more of you. Right now I’m looking forward to Little Big Planet 2, which already came out, and Killzone 3. I don’t really know what else is coming out short-term, so I’ll decide on everything else as time goes by. I do know I want to play Mass Effect 2, which just came out on the PS3, and I am really, really looking forward to the new Elder Scrolls (Skyrim) which is supposed to come out this year. Also, the yearly Call of Duty, Uncharted 3, and I heard something about LA Noire finally coming out? I still have to get through a lot of games right now. My latest obsession is the zombies in Call of Duty: Black Ops. So, we’ll see how my economy goes. I’m sure I’m missing some games, but whatever. Oh, Portal 2.

Californication
My favorite TV show took a break last year, but it’s back now with its 4th season and it’s looking great so far. Watch this shit, it’s great.

That’s it for this list. Albums are hard to look forward to since they don’t really ever get a release date until a few months before, but off the top of my head I could think of Bright Eyes’ new album (which I’m listening to right now) and the new MMJ album. I heard Kanye is coming up with something new, as well as Arcade Fire, but who knows. I’ve been into the new Iron & Wine, Cake and Decemberists albums. Of course, this list will grow as the year goes on.

Leave a Reply

