A Collection of Short Music Reviews: Autumn Edition (Part 1)

Perhaps you remember the “Summer Jams” post from way back in July. Well, seeing how I haven’t reviewed much lately because of fucking concert crazy season I’ve decided to go ahead and write the Autumn Edition of my collection of short reviews. This is what I’ve been listening to in the last few months, as well as a few albums that I missed earlier this year:

How I Got Over – The Roots
I’ve never been a big R&B/hip hop guy, but man do The Roots make it sound awesome! I was turned into this album when I heard that they used “Dear God” from the Monsters of Folk as a sample in one of their songs. Amazing, or what? They also had Joanna Newsom, John Legend and the Dirty Projectors girls as guests (or samples, whatevs). I especially like how everything in this album flows, even the transition from one song to the next. It starts very strong, but gets a bit boring near the end. Funny story, the weekend I got this I was on vacations in this really awesome town and I couldn’t stop listening to this album. Now everytime I listen to it I remember walking in the streets of that town.

The Drums – The Drums
The first time I heard of The Drums, they were playing “Best Friend” on some late night british show. I kept hearing their name and I decided to get their album. Best. Decision. Ever. I love their surf-ish rock sound and their 80-ness, they remind me of The Smiths and some of the non-dark times of The Cure. This album is a blast and it totally deserves all the hype it once got. Now I guess it’s time to go get their first EP, “Summertime”.

The Avalanche – Sufjan Stevens
This is old. Like, 5 years old. But for some reason, I never listened to it before. This are supposed to be “B-sides” from the Illinois album, but they are so good it’s hard to think of them as leftover material. It could very well be the second part of Illinois, but Illinois is long enough already. And let’s just say I can never get enough of “Chicago”, or the 2 alternative versions included here. I love you, Sufjan, in a completely non-gay way.

Pavement
In my constant hunt for new music I never actually got through 90’s indie acclaimed band Pavement. Well, this year with the heat of their reunion and the release of their greatest hits album Quarantine The Past I thought it would be a great time to give them a chance. And I loved them. First I got Crooked Rain and then about 2 days later I got their whole discography. Then after a week they got 255 plays in my Last.fm. Now they are in my top ten most played of all time. In a week, that’s a very big accomplishment for any band. Expect a big post covering them, soon.

the morning benders
Back in the Summer Jams post I gave a not so enthusiastic review of their recent release Big Echo. Well, they grew on me and I even went back and got their debut album Talking Through Tin Cans. I especially liked the thing they did for La Blogotheque recently. It’s hard to put a label on them, and I’m finding it especially hard describing why I like them. Let’s just say I like their hooks and leave it at that.

The Social Network Soundtrack – Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross
One of the best things about David Fincher’s new movie The Social Network (the Facebook movie) is the soundtrack made by Trent Reznor. And it is a pretty great movie, but perhaps that has to do with the fact that I wasn’t expecting anything good to come from it. Like I said, it is done by Trent Reznor from Nine Inch Nails, and it is filled with NIN-isms. The whole “industrial rock” thing flows through the whole album. Great, great soundtrack.

High Violet – The National
Back when this came out I was desperately waiting for it. I first heard them play “Terrible Love” at Jimmy Fallon’s and it blew my mind and awoke my hunger for material from this guys. The album came out and it didn’t dissapoint. It was very dark and sad and different from Boxer and Alligator, but it was great. You don’t really expect happiness to come out of an album with song tracks like “Sorrow”, “Little Faith”, “Terrible Love” and “Afraid of Everyone”. Back when it came out I remember thinking how it could be a great contender for Album of the Year, but seeing what has come out since, I guess High Violet will have to conform with a top ten spot.

That’s the end of the first part of Short Reviews for Autumn. Part 2 is coming soon!

Leave a Reply

