Spoon in retrospective (Part 3): Gimme Fiction

Gimme Fiction

This is the third part of a five part series of Spoon in preparation for their upcoming concert at the Polyforum Siqueiros in Mexico City which I’ll be attending.

I have been meaning to write this review for a while now, the concert is a few days away and I still have a few albums to get through. I better rush things up. This next album is for many people Spoon’s best. I didn’t get it at first, I thought it was okay. Still, I’m not very gaga over it (gaga, get it?), but it does have some of my favorite Spoon songs.

Gimme Fiction (2005) is the follow-up to the band’s most successful release back then, Kill The Moonlight (2002). And I guess it did deliver? I’m not sure how it did sales-wise, but it is pretty popular within Spoon’s crowd. But then again, Spoon was matematically picked as the most consistent band of the decade by Metacritic. By the way, what happened to Metacritic? I used to find it useful, but now that they redesigned it I can’t find anything and it’s very confusing. But back to Spoon, I hate the cover of this album. It seems very amateur-ish, in a bad way. Like, Kill The Moonlight’s cover also seems like an amateur’s work, but it makes sense (not really?). Well, it is cool.

Let me share my feelings about this thing. I feel it is very basic. Like, sort of what I said about Girls Can Tell, remember? How I said there was very little changes in the instrumentation, as in that all the instruments felt the same in every song, and in every song there was always the same instruments? Well, I feel the same way about this, except that the instruments really go well with each other, there isn’t any “brick of sound” here. What I mean by basic is probably the lack of experimental factors in this release. Moonlight had it’s weird moments like “Paper Tiger” and the other song that sounds like a human beat box, but it’s not really a human beat box. There isn’t very much of that here. Notice how I said that the instruments weren’t what was basic, but the album itself? Good, because that’s a different album called Transference.

As for the songs themselves, they’re very Spoon-ish. This is Spoon at its Spoon-iest, before Transference. Their simple, catchy, short songs really play a big part on this album, but not in a Ga Ga way; it’s more rock than it is pop. They are still doing that thing were the piano takes the lead in most songs and the guitar just jumps in occasionally to finish with a simple touch, while the drums and the bass just discreetly do their thing. But there are also some nice almost-acoustic songs like “The Delicate Place”, and one of my favorites, “I Summon You”; and also there are rock out loud moments like in “Sister Jack” and even “The Infinite Pet”, which by the way, was featured in (500) Days of Summer, and since then it has been my predetermined alarm song.

I have mixed feelings about this album because, while I really, really like some songs in it like “My Mathematical Mind”, “I Summon You”, “The Infinite Pet” and “I Turn My Camera On”; the rest of the songs I don’t give much of a fuck about. And it’s not that they are bad, I like them and enjoy listening to them, but they don’t stand out much. Let me explain myself, in Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (which I’ll ve reviewing next, hopefully tomorrow), there isn’t one second that I feel like I should skip or that would be better off the album. It’s just pop hit after pop hit and it never slows down. It would be unfair to compare Gimme Fiction to Ga Ga, because in their nature they’re both very different, I’m just trying to make justify why I’m not as impressed with this album. I like it, I love driving to it and it’s fun, but it’s not Ga Ga. That’s all I have to say about it, I’m pretty tired.

Gimme

One response to “Spoon in retrospective (Part 3): Gimme Fiction

  1. Pingback: Spoon In Retrospective (Part 4): Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga | The Strangulation

Leave a Reply

